Blog Award: Liebster

liebster2

I was graciously given this award by Alice who has a pretty great blog that you should probably go check out. I’m only going to half-way accept the award. I do want to answer the questions, but unfortunately I’m not active enough in the blogging world to really nominate that many people. So I’m hoping that by nominating two people that will count as fulfilling the requirement of the nomination. I do think this type of thing, while very chain-letter like, is still a handy way to encounter new blogs that you might not normally stumble across. Now I go on to the questions.

1.How did you get into blogging?

I got into blogging by becoming frustrated that I couldn’t really discuss what I was reading with people around me. Although, I’m a graduate student I read a lot of stuff that isn’t part of my field of study. I needed a space to put down my thoughts about books/literature and the place it has in society.

2. What has been the most surprising thing you have come across when blogging?

The most surprising thing has either been the number people “writing a book” or the number of people reviewing Young Adult/Romance novels that consider themselves well read. (I don’t apologize that this sounds snobby. I won’t apologize for thinking people should aim higher.)

3. When you’re not blogging, what do you do?

I’m a full-time graduate student getting a Master’s of Arts in Theology. So I read a lot. I’m also an avid soccer fan and when time allows I play some games with friends.

4. What do you blog about most often?

Books. Books I’ve read, book news, books I’ve purchased, and how books relate to our life.

5. Do you promote your blog? How/why not?

Kind of, if you consider commenting on other sites anticipating that they will at least click on yours, then yes. Usually, no. I don’t use my personal twitter account or any personal accounts to promote the site because I like the freedom a certain level of anonymity affords me.

6. Is your blog private or do you love to share it with the world?

This seems to be related to the above question, but I’ll elaborate a bit more here. I love sharing my blog, but purposely don’t share it with family or directly with friends. I make some fairly critical statements and don’t want to deal with hurt feelings from those I might know and offend. But I’m ok sharing it with anyone else freely because entering into the discussion about books and world is messy. It should create good dialogue, just like a good book does.

7. Where do you often do your blogging – at home, in private, on the go?

I most often blog at home, or very slow days at work (which I’ve never mentioned on the site before).

8. If you could do anything and blog about it, what would it be?

I’d go visit bookstores and describe their strengths and weaknesses.

9. What has been the most controversial topic you have written about on your blog?

Probably my post “Deciding What to Read” (although that’s surprising to me).

10. From the above, what were the responses?

Just generally a bunch of comments about how people have their own methods for choosing what they read. It wasn’t really controversial in a traditional sense and frankly I’ve been more judgmental/critical in other posts.

11. What would you like to do if you had all the time you needed?

This is easy. I’d read and talk/write about it.

Now it’s your turn – get posting and nominating!

I nominate:

David (http://themoreyoublog.wordpress.com/) a great new blog that’s eclectic with a bent toward the literary.

Kim Hooper (http://night.kimhooperwrites.com/) she’s writer who posts fascinating things about writing/publishing.

To accept this award just answer the following questions and nominate blogs you read that aren’t incredibly well known.

  1. How did you get into blogging?
  2. What has been the most surprising thing you have come across when blogging?
  3. When you’re not blogging, what do you do?
  4. What do you blog about most often?
  5. Where do you often do your blogging – at home, in private, on the go?
  6. If you could do anything and blog about it, what would it be?
  7. What would you like to do if you had all the time you needed?
  8. I have to ask, what’s your favorite book of all time?
  9. And finally what’s the worst piece of advice you’ve ever received?
2 comments

  1. Congratulations on your award and great responses to the questions posed! As someone who reads and reviews a lot of young adult/romance I’ll do my best to read a wider breadth of literature. (:

  2. […] a completely different note, thanks to David from State of the Book for nominating me for a Liebster Award. I have no idea what a Liebster Award is, but I’m a […]

Leave a Reply

